Hamilton Awards Presented
Six Awards Presented at Annual Dinner of the Board of Directors

Hamilton Center, Inc. is pleased to announce the recipients of this year's Hamilton Awards. The awards were presented on October 26, 2010 at the Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors at Hulman Center, Terre Haute, IN. Officers of the Board presented the awards. Dr. Caroline Carney Doebbeling, Chief Medical Officer of MDwise and President of Cetan Consultants provided the keynote address to an audience of approximately 320 people.

Hamilton Awards, which are selected by the Executive Committee of Hamilton Center's Board of Directors, are presented annually. Winners have significantly contributed to the cause of mental health and/or the care of people with mental illnesses, addiction problems, or developmental disabilities. Hamilton Awards have been presented annually since 1981 and are named in honor of Katherine Hamilton, a woman who was devoted to the cause of mental health and improving the care of those in need.

Community Award winners:

Union Hospital was honored for their partnership with Hamilton Center's Rehabilitation Division on a program known as Project Search. Hamilton Centers' Employment Solutions was awarded one of five pilot grants by Vocational Rehabilitation Services to start a "Project Search" in the Wabash Valley. Project Search is an internship program that serves high school students with disabilities who are ready to transition out of high school to the world of work. When looking for a business partner where the students could do their internships, Union Hospital jumped on full board. In May of 2010, eight students completed the program. Union Hospital was awarded the first of two Community Awards.

Stephanie Laws, Project Associate with the Richard G. Lugar Center for Rural Health, was honored as the second Community Award recipient for her successful leadership in launching the telemedicine programs. She collaborated, researched, trained and identified funding for the highly successful program for those suffering with behavioral health issues. Through the telemedicine solution, she and the Lugar Center have helped Hamilton Center provide crisis consults to area emergency rooms twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week.

Volunteer Award winners:

Mary Yelton, Director of Clay County's LEAAP Center, was the first honored for her volunteerism of helping people suffering from mental illness and other issues. When others say, "it's too bad, we can't help this person," Mary finds a way to meet the need. She has served on many school committees and helped organize the effort to apply for a Safe School/Healthy Students Federal Grant to provide mental health services to students. She has served on many committees and boards, including the Hamilton Center Board.

Pamela Grimes of Vigo County has devoted much of her time to her primary philanthropy Multiple Sclerosis Society, to end the devastating effects of the crippling disease that she was afflicted with over a decade ago. She has also been an excellent volunteer with the consumers of Hamilton Center's Spectrum Services. She has graciously invited them into her home to learn the craft that she has come to love ~ creating small greeting cards. When they arrive at her home she makes them feel treasured, and enthusiastically moves from consumer to consumer helping them hone their skills. Pamela Grimes was honored as the second Volunteer Award Winner.

Staff Award winners:

Denise Harden, Therapist with Hamilton Centers' Child and Adolescent Services Division was honored as the first recipient of the Staff Award for her dedicated work serving children since 2004. She is described as a person who takes time to know each child and/or family as an individual. She provides ideas and suggestions to fellow staff on how to handle all cases making sure that everyone is equipped to serve their clients effectively.

Mary Beth Dougherty, Director of Hamilton Center's Access Center and Inpatient Unit, was the second recipient of the Staff Award. She has been a dedicated employee of Hamilton Center for over 20 years and has been instrumental in the collaborative implementation of telemedicine with the Richard G. Lugar Center. Mary Beth has visited each of the rural hospitals to help educate and train staff on the benefits of telemedicine in order to make it a positive experience for all.

Hamilton Award Winners: Front Row: Pam Grimes (Volunteer Award) Back Row(L to R):</strong>  Mary Beth Dougherty (Staff  Award); Denise Harden (Staff Award); Mary Yelton (Volunteer Award); Galen Goode  (HCI CEO): Stephanie Laws (Community Award – Richard G. Lugar Center); Scott  Teffeteller (Community Award-Union Hospital).

Front Row:  Pam Grimes (Volunteer Award)
Back Row(L to R):  Mary Beth Dougherty (Staff Award); Denise Harden (Staff Award); Mary Yelton (Volunteer Award); Galen Goode (HCI CEO): Stephanie Laws (Community Award – Richard G. Lugar Center); Scott Teffeteller (Community Award-Union Hospital).

Return to 2010 News Stories