Hamilton Awards Presented Four Awards Presented at Annual Dinner of the Board of Directors - September 18, 2007

Hamilton Center, Inc. is pleased to announce the recipients of this year's Hamilton Awards. The awards were presented on Tuesday, Sept. 18, 2007 at the Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors at Hulman Center, Terre Haute, IN. Officers of the Board presented the awards. Kelvin Sampson, Head Coach for Indiana University Men’s Basketball Team, gave the keynote address to an audience of over 500 people.

Hamilton Awards, which are selected by the Executive Committee of Hamilton Center’s Board of Directors, are presented annually. Winners have significantly contributed to the cause of mental health and/or the care of people with mental illnesses, addiction problems, or developmental disabilities. Hamilton Awards have been presented annually since 1981 and are named in honor of Katherine Hamilton, a woman who was devoted to the cause of mental health and improving the care of those in need.

Community Award winner:

This year the Hamilton “Community” Award went to Lori Thatcher-Quillen of Owen County. Thatcher-Quillen has been a long standing resident and professional in Owen County. During her tenure she has offered her time and services to addressing the concerns and problems faced by children and families. Her interest in this area is not limited to her professional duties, but has expanded to identifying effective programs, services and efforts that demonstrate success. She has provided services in her community as a former attorney and deputy prosecutor. She has spent countless hours as a Guardian-Ad-Litem for abused and neglected children. Along with the Chief Probation Officer and community team, she helped start the drug court, which has proven successes in many counties. Her nominator said, “she does this work without interest in receiving personal recognition.”

Volunteer Award winner:

Marion County’s Rick Gustafson was the winner of this year’s Hamilton “Volunteer” Award. Mr. Gustafson is dedicated to improving the quality of life for many in his community. He started at least two halfway houses in Indianapolis, and gives up a great deal of his personal time to help suffering and recovering addicts and alcoholics in Center Indiana. He is on staff at IUPUI and teaches social work students about addiction and recovery. Gustafson is also very involved with the narcotics and alcoholic anonymous programs. His nominator said, “he has helped hundreds of addicts and alcoholics come out of denial, become hopeful and find a new way to live.” His contributions in the community are multi-faceted. He is devoted to the cause of recovery from addiction and exemplifies the spirit of Katherine Hamilton.”

Staff Award winners:

This year there were to recipients of the Hamilton “Staff” Award. The first winner was Vermillion County Office Supervisor, Debra Curry. Curry has been employed at Hamilton Center for nearly 20 years. She is known for her pleasant contacts with both clients and staff. Those that know this person, regard her with the utmost respect, as she always conducts herself in a professional manner that brings credit to Hamilton Center. Her work ethic is well known to all who have contact with her. The person nominating her said, “we need to remember that our services are possible only with the talent and dedication of those behind the scenes.”

The second person being honored with a Hamilton “Staff” Award is Parke County Program Manager, Dr. Todd Carpenter. Carpenter came to Hamilton Center as a therapist approximately 13 years ago. After earning his doctorate at Indiana State University, he was promoted to psychologist and ultimately became the Program Manager of two different Hamilton Center satellite offices. His nominator described him as someone who is “conscientious about his job and works hard at it. He is always pleasant and professional.

Return to 2007 News Stories