Hamilton Awards Presented
Three Awards Presented at Annual Dinner of the Board of Directors

Hamilton Center, Inc. is pleased to announce the recipients of this year's Hamilton Awards. The awards were presented on October 28, 2003 at the Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors at Hulman Center, Terre Haute, IN. Officers of the Board presented the awards. Clark Flatt, President and CEO of the Jason Foundation provided the keynote address to an audience of close to 400 people. The Jason Foundation is an initiative promoting awareness and prevention of youth suicide.

Hamilton Awards, which are selected by the Executive Committee of Hamilton Center’s Board of Directors, are presented annually. Winners have significantly contributed to the cause of mental health and/or the care of people with mental illnesses, addiction problems, or developmental disabilities. Hamilton Awards have been presented annually since 1981 and are named in honor of Katherine Hamilton, a woman who was devoted to the cause of mental health and improving the care of those in need.

Community Award winner:
Mrs. Kathy Mobley is a teacher for children with emotional disabilities at McCormick’s Creek Elementary School, Spencer Indiana. She was nominated for the way she has touched the lives of children, parents and teachers by working tirelessly to find strategies that work to help students. She uses teaching methods that are not only effective but also are interesting to students. She focuses not only on academic standards, but also character development, life skills and conflict resolution. In the words of the nominator, “Mrs. Mobley brings life to children, inspiration to her colleagues and is a true example of what a teacher should be.”

Volunteer Award winner:
Kevin Orpurt is a meteorologist at Action 10 News WTHI, Terre Haute, IN. He has donated his time to benefit the community by being involved with events such as Share your Thanksgiving, The American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life, and many other health and human service initiatives. For years, Orpurt has been the master of ceremonies at the Vigo County Mental Health Association’s Night Under the Mistletoe. He was given a Hamilton Award for his devotion to the community and to those in need.

Staff Award winner:
Janet McBride, MSW, LCSW is the Program Manager of Hamilton Center’s office in Vermillion County, Clinton Indiana. McBride has worked at Hamilton Center for 20 years where she started as an Activity Therapist. After a short hiatus, in 1988 she was rehired as a clinical therapist in outpatient services. Then, in 1990, she was promoted to program supervisor of Parke county services, and in that same year was transferred to program supervisor of Vermillion County services where she remains as the manager of that office today. She was nominated for being a strong advocate for the youth of Vermillion County. She has spearheaded many programs that benefit children including smoking cessation programs, tobacco education programs, physical and domestic abuse education, and many more. In the words of the nominator, McBride is a “shining star” on the Local Coordinating Council for a Drug Free Indiana where she has served in several leadership roles. She started a program for incarcerated men with drug problems at the Vermillion County jail and has been responsible for facilitating groups of elementary students at Central and Ernie Pyle who have been identified with behavior problems associated with alcohol, tobacco or other drugs in the family.

The nominator describes her as a great collaborator, consultant and mentor who has improved the quality of life for hundreds of people in Vermillion County.

Return to 2003 News Stories